Skip Navigation
Oklahoma City - An OSU Degree in OKC.

Staff, faculty honored at 2023 OSU-OKC awards

A Western theme welcomed cowboy hats and bandanas to the Student Center of Oklahoma State University-Oklahoma City on Thursday, as OSU-OKC celebrated the success of its employees over the past year in its 2023 Employee Excellence Awards. 

These awards featured a “Wanted” theme as the school celebrated “wanted” characteristics including excellence and dedication. 

Mistress of Ceremonies TeeJai Brooks hosted the event and helped honor staff and faculty who had been at OSU-OKC for 5, 10, 15, and 20 years. James Walton, OSU-OKC’s web communications manager, was honored for 35 years at the institution. James started in printing and graphics services at OSU-OKC, predating the web site he now updates daily.  

The L.E. “Dean” Stringer Award for Teaching Excellence went to Dr. Steven Collins. Collins was praised for his passion for civic engagement and his skill in teaching and promoting discussion. 

Staff Excellence Awards went to Allison Lowe and James Anderson. 

The final two awards were kept secret until the reveal at the ceremony.

The Innovator of the Year Award went to Dr. Evan Burkala, STEM division head. 

This year’s President’s Award went to Ross Duren, health and wellness counselor.

President Scott Newman closed the event by praising the OSU-OKC employees. 

“You make a tremendous difference in the lives of so many,” he said. “It is very deeply appreciated.”