Skip Navigation
Oklahoma City - An OSU Degree in OKC.

Campus update on permitless carry law

Open, permitless carry law does not change OSU policy

A new handgun law is set to go into effect Nov. 1, but it will not change the rules in place at all Oklahoma State University campuses, including at OSU-OKC, that prohibit guns from being carried on campus. 

This applies to all OSU campuses across the state. Weapons can be locked in a vehicle on campus but not carried on campus.

OSU safety officials remind all students, faculty, staff and campus visitors that anyone caught carrying a gun on campus now and after Nov. 1 in violation of the law could face a misdemeanor charge and a fine of up to $250.

The new law will allow adults 21 years and older or military members 18 years and older to openly carry a firearm in most places except those set forth in the law, including courthouses and schools.

For more information, refer to OSU Policy and Procedure 1-1301, Weapons, Firearms, Ammunition, Fireworks, Explosives and Dangerous Chemicals. Read the new law at